Posted by: Chris­™ | January 8, 2008

Gusto

I sometimes wonder if the best things in life are the shortest moments of all-encompassing zealousness one experiences from time to time. I know that when I become excited about some event or hobby or book, I go all out; I live and breath to go to said event, or practice said hobby, or reach the end of said book. And don’t get me wrong, I have a fantastic time while being utterly absorbed in these things. The problem exists in the realization that all these moments are temporal. They’re burning on a short fuse, if you prefer.

Whether it’s a new relationship, an amazing book, or perhaps a new song, the sense of novelty can make these things profoundly amazing. There seems almost a desire to devour the stimulation until there is nothing more. And truly, one can feel more alive/inspired/joyous in these moments of consumption than in years of average amusement.

Once the zeal is gone though, it just can’t be revived to the same extent. Certainly one might have a favorite movie that, when viewed, sends up a wave of pleasant nostalgia, but it’s never quite as shiver-inducingly amazing as the first time.

So, with this said, should we continue to move forward in a pattern of excitement-induced osmosis? Is true elation only a short term feeling that must be continually found again and again in different areas through life? If so, should we actively seek out these inspiring things and attempt to ration them when they are found? Or, is there perhaps a more permanent source of bliss that one might experience to be found in something else?

I’ll have to think on this a little bit. Just some thoughts.

Thanks for reading! rararar

Responses

  1. pretty impressive wordage

  2. Interesting subject…you’re right about the novelty of things wearing off eventually. Temporal elation is satyisfying but that’s it, it’s short lived.

    But it can be revived to some extent – though not to same extent as on the first time, as you say – but yes, enthusiasm about a new idea can be revived if you were to give yourself a break from it for some time.

    That joy you felt when you first read that book, or heard that song or whatever, that you might not find as interesting as the for the first time anymore, a part of that joy still stays in your mind somewhere. It never completely deserts us, and as you say, gives you nostalgia – that’s what it transforms into, a memory…even though that thing will not give you that… thrill, shall we say – but it still allows you to look back on the memory itself fondly, and it becomes a kind of cheque that you cash on time and time again.

  3. Yeah, it makes perfect sense that memory would trigger nostalgia, which in turn makes something truly special last beyond its own temporal span. This is one thing that breaks the pattern of a ‘short fuse.’

    Still, I’m debating if there’s anything that you can be truly enthusiastic about every single day (and whether or not that thing is constantly changing or not).

  4. You got me thinking on this, man! I’m a musician myself and I can attest to the fact that I never get tired of hearing my own music. Whether it’s good or not is beside the point. And, this is not tooting my own horn, by the way. But I get a sense of absolute satisfaction in hearing my songs whether for the first time, or the thousandth time. It’s always the same kind of high. It gives me the feeling that I’ve done something right and worthwhile.

    Some people say it’s weird. Maybe so. But does it matter? This, I’m not so sure.


Leave a Reply

Categories

